Identify Social Media Platforms and Create Calendar to Reach Your Customers

Reach Your Target Audience by Identifying Your Top Social Networking Sites and Being Intentional by Creating a Social Media Calendar

Platform Identification

To continue our discussion on developing a social media campaign, it is important to choose the platforms that are the most effective sites to reach your target market. To discover the plethora of social media sites available, visit: http://namechk.com/. This website will allow you to check your name on the numerous social media sites, while displaying the many different platforms available.
The top three platforms are LinkedIn, Twitter, and Facebook. Remember that LinkedIn is used by business professionals, Twitter is widely used and is more instant, and Facebook is more of a relationship-building site.

UnderKnow your target audience and the social network they are a part of. Facebook, LinkedIn, Google+, and Pinterest may all work or none at all. Infographic by Vocus on Facebook for business and personalstanding Your Audience

Understanding your audience is important. If your target market consists mostly of the general public, Facebook may be the perfect option. An interesting infographic describing Facebook in relation to business versus personal was published by Vocus to give you more insight on whether or not it is beneficial for you to focus on. If you need to reach the business professional to advertise your services, LinkedIn is an ideal platform for you to invest your time on. Have an amazing product that can only be told through pictures? Pinterest may be the site where you need to have a strong presence.

NOTE:  If you are not going to invest the time required to develop a strong presence on any social media site, do not create a profile! It is worse to have an outdated profile, than to not have one at all. Delete any profile you do not frequently use.

Developing a Social Media Calendar

Again, understanding your audience is vital to your social media success. Once you have chosen a select few sites to invest your time on, develop a social media calendar to keep you in line with your goals.

Your calendar should be based on your keywords mentioned in an earlier post, “Before beginning a social media campaign, you must develop a focused marketing plan,”, your selected social media platforms (including your blog), and the days of the week you will be submitting your information.

Hint: When developing your calendar keep in mind that you will want to check your Twitter feed, LinkedIn wall, and Facebook wall at least twice a day. With the use of keywords you can search for items of interest to comment on and begin engaging individuals you want to connect with.

Amber Gold Marketing, Amber Dixon, How to social network, what are marketing techniques, how to use social media, public relations and, marketing collateral, brand awareness, build brand, humanize brand, brand development
Humanizing Your Brand

The calendar will assist you with being intentional with your posts, while lessening the amount of time you spend on social media marketing. Using sites like “Hootsuite” are useful when you want to write a single message across numerous platforms. Using Hootsuite also allows you to schedule your posts so you can create bulk messages to be sent through the week. You must remember, however, that although your posts are pre-written, you still need to scan the sites to create a dialogue with your audience. You are humanizing your brand, and to do this you need to comment on posts (not simply “like”). Although you can outsource your initial posts, you can not outsource your dialogue with your connections.

To avoid looking like a self-promoter or “spammy”, you should share posts you find interesting and could benefit your connections, retweet news items that coincide with your keyword for the week, and write a blog post or article that adds value to your audience. You never want to write your posts that translate as “Look at me! I am wonderful and you want what I have to sell.” Instead, you want to be viewed as an authority in your industry while providing value.

Sample calendar: Representing one week

Sample Social Media Calendar

Sample Social Media Calendar

As you can see from this sample, each social media site is listed and the keyword chosen for that week is consistent across all platforms. This allows you to be intentional with your posts and reminds you to build relationships in the process.

Although I only listed a week, I recommend laying out a month at a time with a different keyword per week. You may want to choose two keywords per week if it would fit your audience better. A social media campaign and calendar is not a one-size-fits-all solution, so tweak the information to meet represent you and your company’s goals. Also know that you can reuse some of your posts in future weeks or even in the same week, but you must rewrite the posts to appear fresh. Do not cut-and-paste your posts. Remember to rewrite them if you are reusing them.

Next Educational Post

In my next blog post I will provide tools you can use to maximize your time on your chosen platforms to discover what is being posted or discussed on topics that interest you. With these tools and hints, you will be able to quickly find topics you can share information about, comment on, or gain exposure simply by sharing why you like a particular post or article. This is all part of the relationship building component that is required for a strong online presence.

Reminder: Bookmark and subscribe to this blog to continue learning marketing tools, tips, and insight. I also enjoy feedback and look forward to furthering this discussion.

–Amber

Marketing and public relations strategist assisting businesses by filling the marketing and public relations gap. Want to learn more about how we can help you grow your business?  Learn More about AGM

___________________________________________________

Follow Amber Gold Marketing on Facebook for additional insight and tools for social media, marketing techniques, and public relationsVisit Amber Gold Marketing website for business marketing, public relations, and social media networking how to tipsFollow Amber Dixon on Stumbleupon for marketing tips, techniques, public relations, ideas, and Utah event Follow Amber Dixon, Amber Gold Marketing, on bitly for marketing techniques and social media toolsVisit Amber Dixon on Google+ website for business marketing, public relations, and social media networking how to tipsSubscribe to Amber Gold Marketing, social media tool, how to public relation, social network, learn more

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

29 thoughts on “Identify Social Media Platforms and Create Calendar to Reach Your Customers

  1. simply vera vera wang shoes November 19, 2012 at 2:51 am Reply

    Hmm is anyone else having problems with the pictures
    on this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

  2. Bennie November 24, 2012 at 4:14 am Reply

    Admiring the persistence you put into your site and in
    depth information you present. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed information.
    Wonderful read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  3. Ocalaevents.Com November 25, 2012 at 1:37 am Reply

    bookmarked!!, I really like your web site!

  4. Concetta November 27, 2012 at 4:20 am Reply

    Hi friends, good paragraph and good urging commented here, I
    am truly enjoying by these.

  5. paydayadvances4u.com December 7, 2012 at 6:01 am Reply

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more
    of your useful information. Thanks for the post.
    I will definitely comeback.

  6. instantpaydayloansfix.com December 8, 2012 at 6:22 am Reply

    Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author. I will make certain to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back from now on. I want to encourage you to continue your great posts, have a nice evening!

  7. power ball winnings December 8, 2012 at 10:03 am Reply

    I think that what you wrote made a lot of sense. However,
    think on this, suppose you were to create a killer title? I am not saying your information isn’t good., but suppose you added a post title that grabbed folk’s attention?
    I mean Social Media Campaign Part III – Identifying Platforms & Creating a Social Media
    Calendar Amber Gold Marketing is a little vanilla. You
    might glance at Yahoo’s front page and note how they create post titles to grab people to click. You might add a video or a picture or two to get readers excited about what you’ve got to say.
    Just my opinion, it could bring your website a little bit
    more interesting.

  8. Amber Gold Marketing December 8, 2012 at 1:38 pm Reply

    Thank you everyone for the great feedback. I took your advice, Power ball winnings, and added more pictures. I do not know how I missed my subheadings and pictures. My other blog had them, but I failed to incorporate the same methods in this one. I hope the changes were positive.

  9. Julius December 11, 2012 at 9:12 am Reply

    I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on
    the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here
    and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Exceptional work!

  10. watch free movies online December 20, 2012 at 6:01 am Reply

    Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?

    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks

  11. Denae Horkley December 27, 2012 at 1:22 am Reply

    I simply want to say I am just beginner to blogging and definitely savored your web blog. More than likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You actually have very good articles. Thank you for sharing with us your website page.

  12. moviemoz.tv January 1, 2013 at 6:18 pm Reply

    I seldom create comments, but after looking
    at through a great deal of comments on this page Identify Social Media Platforms
    and Create Calendar to Reach Your Customers Amber Gold Marketing.
    I do have a couple of questions for you if you tend not to
    mind. Could it be just me or do a few of the remarks come across as
    if they are left by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional online social
    sites, I would like to follow you. Could you list of every one of your shared pages like your Facebook page,
    twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    • Amber Gold Marketing January 5, 2013 at 2:48 pm Reply

      Thank you for your feedback. I enjoy reading all of the comments. Links to my social media sites are listed at the end of each post, and also on the menu bar. I look forward to networking with you.

  13. digital signage case January 4, 2013 at 12:27 pm Reply

    I would like to verbalize that I haven’t reviewed something so exciting in a while. There are many motivating ideas and opinions. I suppose that you absolutely stumbled upon an vital fact and I signed up to your rss feed to stay well-versed.

  14. digital signage housing January 4, 2013 at 12:27 pm Reply

    Excellent line up. We will probably be linking to this great article on our web site. Keep up the great creating.

  15. digital signage case January 4, 2013 at 12:27 pm Reply

    Nice post. I study something tougher on totally different blogs everyday. It is going to always be stimulating to learn content from different writers and observe a little bit something from their store. I’d choose to make use of some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll provide you with a link in your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  16. digital signage protection January 4, 2013 at 1:12 pm Reply

    I am often to blogging i really appreciate your posts. The content has truly peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your website and maintain checking choosing data.

  17. Visit Website January 4, 2013 at 1:30 pm Reply

    I have not checked in here for some time because I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are good quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

    • Amber Gold Marketing January 5, 2013 at 2:56 pm Reply

      Ouch! Felt like they were getting boring? 😉 I’m glad that I am adding valuable content once again. I hope to continue for a long time. I appreciate your feedback.

  18. Find Out More January 5, 2013 at 8:44 am Reply

    I do consider all the ideas you’ve offered on your post. They’re really convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are too short for novices. May you please extend them a little from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

  19. Learn More January 5, 2013 at 8:54 am Reply

    Great blog! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am taking your feeds also

    • Amber Gold Marketing January 5, 2013 at 2:55 pm Reply

      I appreciate your feedback. I apologize that you feel they are too short in content. I feel like maybe some of them are too long? But, I will work on follow ups to some of my posts to add greater detail. Is there a post in particular you would like additional information about? Thank you again.

  20. Vita Abar January 5, 2013 at 10:11 am Reply

    Great post.Ne’er knew this, regards for letting me know.

  21. patent pending January 5, 2013 at 10:36 am Reply

    I Am Going To have to return again when my course load lets up – nonetheless I am getting your Feed so i could read your web blog offline. Cheers.

    • Amber Gold Marketing January 5, 2013 at 2:53 pm Reply

      Thank you for your feeback and for signing up for my feed. I appreciate it.

  22. discount chair mat January 5, 2013 at 10:57 am Reply

    This site has got lots of really useful stuff on it! Cheers for sharing it with me!

  23. Amber Gold Marketing January 5, 2013 at 2:53 pm Reply

    Thank you for your feeback! I’m pleased that you find the content useful. I hope to continue adding valuable content for a long time.

  24. click here for January 5, 2013 at 7:32 pm Reply

    Is it fine to place a portion of this on my personal site if I publish a reference to this website?

    • Amber Gold Marketing January 5, 2013 at 8:11 pm Reply

      That is fine. All that I ask is that you, as you mentioned in your request, reference (backlink) this site. I am pleased that you found valuable information.

      –Amber

Leave a Reply

