21 thoughts on “New Logo for Amber Gold Marketing. Your Opinion?

  1. UtahRugbyGuy December 16, 2012 at 9:32 pm Reply

    I don’t like any of them. You should have a world-class logo designed by Helius Creative. Ad agency quality logos without paying ad agency prices. http://www.facebook.com/HeliusCreative

  2. Amber Gold Marketing December 17, 2012 at 6:47 pm Reply

    Thank you for your feedback UtahRugbyGuy. Although I do appreciate your comments, my graphic artist is well respected in the community and I love the work he does. At my request he incorporated the tree that is how I currently brand myself. The tree, for me, symbolizes strength, growth, and longevity. He is currently in round 3 where he’ll be working on the shape of the tree and the coloring.

    I’ll keep you posted, and keep Helius Creative in mind for future projects. I love to network with graphic artists because of the many projects I do.

    Have a great evening, and I look forward to future feedback.

    Amber

  3. David December 22, 2012 at 1:07 pm Reply

    I prefer the upper left option. I think the tree has the best shape. The bottom one, IMO, the tree is too tall and narrow. In the upper right logo, the placement of the logo with the “M” inside the trunk looks like a big crack in the trunk, as if it’s maybe going to break in half. My only suggestion for the upper left would be to lower the agency name a little (oh so slightly) to give more space to the upper part of the tree. It seems just a tad crowded. Good luck with it, hope this helps. –David

    • Amber Gold Marketing December 24, 2012 at 9:25 pm Reply

      Thank you David, this feedback has helped me a great deal. I wouldn’t want my logo to look “broken” but rather strong, bold, and impressive. This was great feedback to help me as I move into round 3.

      I appreciate the time you took to provide feedback.

      Happy Holiday’s to you, and hopefully I will be celebrating the New Year with a new logo that accurately reflects me, my brand, and my marketing/pr company.

      –Amber
      Marketing and public relations strategist assisting businesses by filling the marketing and public relations gap. Want to learn more about how we can help you grow your business? Learn More about AGM

  4. Sean Michael McLaughlin December 22, 2012 at 1:54 pm Reply

    I would keep away from any Yellow text in logo, It means you will just have to work that much harder for people to see the logo on some backgrounds. Also keep in mind if you ever get promotional items simple is always better. Outlining text or overlapping text on certain things can cause issues with printers or embroiders.

    • Amber Gold Marketing December 24, 2012 at 9:23 pm Reply

      That is a point that I hadn’t thought of. I liked the overlapping, and have thought about some of the comments I have received about my initials, AGM, being in the tree trunk as though they were “carved” into the tree, but I can see your point about promotional items, and simplicity. Great points to think about.

      Happy Holiday’s you and hopefully I’ll be celebrating the New Year with a new logo that truly reflects me and my marketing/pr company.

      I appreciate your feedback.

      -Amber
      Marketing and public relations strategist assisting businesses by filling the marketing and public relations gap. Want to learn more about how we can help you grow your business? Learn More about AGM

  5. Henry Gewanter December 22, 2012 at 4:37 pm Reply

    Excellent comments already, in particular advice to steer clear of yellow (impossible to read in all but the brightest lighting) and I prefer the text as per top left in Round 1 – it doesn’t overlap the tree and so is clearer/more visible.

  6. Barbara December 22, 2012 at 5:03 pm Reply

    I like the upper left option also. I prefer it when the Amber matches the darker color and the Gold reflects the gold color. I am having trouble reading the marketing so not sure that is the font I would go with. Perhaps it works larger but shrunk down it’s hard to read. Good luck!!

    • Amber Gold Marketing December 24, 2012 at 9:20 pm Reply

      Thank you Barbara for your feedback. I’ve received great ideas for moving into round 3 and I appreciate everyone’s point-of-view. I agree about making “marketing” more prominent, and I plan on using a more bold and noticeable typeface.

      Thank you again for your feedback, and for the “good luck” wishes. Happy Holiday’s to you and hopefully I’ll be celebrating the New Year with a new logo that truly reflects me and my marketing/pr company.

      Take care.

  7. Liz Goldsmith December 22, 2012 at 7:16 pm Reply

    I prefer the tree with the yellow trunk but I also prefer a version where the text doesn’t overlap the tree as I find it hard to read. I’m not crazy about the type face you are using for Marketing. It’s hard to read. I would not use yellow for any of the text.

    • Amber Gold Marketing December 23, 2012 at 11:43 am Reply

      Thank you Liz. I completely agree about the yellow text and the fact that “marketing” is not dominant. I’ll keep you posted and I appreciate your feedback.

  8. Ken Anderson December 22, 2012 at 10:19 pm Reply

    The tree might suggest growth but yellow leaves are generally nearing the end of the life cycle. You might want to re-think the growth part – a single leaf with tons of buds suggests more growth to me than the yellow canopy. Given that your main business is marketing, make that the dominant word. Not to quibble but Amber is golden. Do you need both names? Just asking. I know, I know, we’re all designers. If I have to pick one of the design presented, it has to be Round 1, top left. The word mark doesn’t compete with the trunk of the tree.

    • Amber Gold Marketing December 23, 2012 at 11:41 am Reply

      Thank you for your comment Ken. Yes, I do need to keep both Amber and Gold. I’ve used that company name for quite some time, and, because Amber is my first name I want that, and Gold (rather than my last name) seemed to fit well. A focus group I conducted resulted in people thinking of Amber Gold as the substance that many fossils are found, thus longevity. I like your bud idea, but may scrap the entire tree idea. I’ve received many ideas and now I need to prioritize them and think about what makes me feel strongly about for my image. I’ve really enjoyed the comments.

  9. Laura B December 23, 2012 at 1:25 am Reply

    I would agree with Round 1 top left. As many have commented, ‘Marketing’ typeface is too small and hard to read, I would either drop it altogether, or make it much bigger, perhaps running underneath the tree – acting kind of like the ground which your tree is growing from. This could also make sense from a metaphorical point of view: your work is marketing which nourishes the tree providing the growth, strength and stability you refer to above. Need to see if it works visually though.

    • Amber Gold Marketing December 23, 2012 at 11:42 am Reply

      As the ground…interesting and I love the idea. I may, however, scrap the tree idea, but we’ll see after my next consultation. Great insight though. I never thought of that. Yes, “marketing” definitely needs to be bigger. I noticed that right away also. I appreciate your feedback!

  10. Linda K. Showers December 24, 2012 at 1:05 pm Reply

    Like the “Round 2” option the best … but agree that yellow is sometimes difficult to read. Happy New Year

    • Amber Gold Marketing December 24, 2012 at 9:15 pm Reply

      Thank you Linda for your feedback. I’ve received great ideas for moving into round 3 and I appreciate everyone’s point-of-view. I agree about the gold.

      Happy New Year to you as well and hopefully I’ll be celebrating the New Year with a new logo that truly reflects me and my marketing/pr company.

      Take care.

  11. John Awe December 25, 2012 at 8:40 am Reply

    I’ll go with top left round 2. Most comments already made capture my thoughts, so I wouldnt belabour them. Goodluck.

  12. Heather Conway Lauer December 27, 2012 at 6:45 am Reply

    Kudos to you for taking this step and putting your logo out there and best wishes for a successful new year. Your trees are nice but grab me a bit like a Rorschach test, The leaves look (to me anyway) like a charicature of an old guy sleeping (big nose, little chin) and the branch is a mouth. Maybe I’m the only one.

  13. Al Hamilton December 28, 2012 at 10:07 am Reply

    Amber,
    I’m certainly not as experienced in this area as the other respondents. However, I strongly suggest your design and colors be adaptable to B&W issues (print media,etc).
    Gold aren’t sharp enough contrast with white paper and washes out in grayscale.
    I agree with comments on ‘text over graphic’. Online, this works. in print, risky. Others may disagree, but why not consider your name being the ‘field from which the tree (symbolizes strength, growth, and longevity) grows. in other words, the client’s strength, growth, longivity grows out of your business. Best of luck to you. And THANK YOU to a “community” of professionals that take the time to share their wisdom, experience & perspective. I am glad to be a part of this ‘community’ and welcome any comments, ideas, perspectives they are willing to share. That’s the best way for all of us to Grow! HAPPY NEW YEAR everyone. Al Hamilton, Showtime Specialties/AVADministries.

  14. Keneth Mckenny December 31, 2012 at 6:01 pm Reply

    I simply want to say I am just beginner to weblog and truly enjoyed your web blog. Almost certainly I’m want to bookmark your website . You amazingly come with fabulous articles and reviews. With thanks for sharing your blog site.

Leave a Reply

